Posted in Building a Blog, Uncategorized

My Post On The Bloggers Project

Most of you know that I am a blogger on The Bloggers Project. I just made a post onThe Bloggers Project the other day and I wanted to reblog it, but for some reason I can’t reblog my own post. So, I’m literally just copy and pasting it to my blog. Well, here it is!

Building a Blog Part 1: Choosing a Platform

adult books business coffee

Whether you are wanting to build a website for a blog, a business, or your just wanting to get yourself and what you do out there, I have some helpful tips about how to get started.

First of all, one frequently asked question is this: Do I need to learn html to build a website? My short answer is: No. Although learning code gives you basically no limits to building a website, it can still take years to learn and years more to perfect it enough to make a great website.

With so many new website building platforms out there today, I personally don’t think it is necessary to learn html in most cases. The platforms out there give you so many choices to make your website look professional with little to no experience in web design. In fact, most website building platforms actually allow you to insert html into them to make it even more unique, but it is certainly not necessary to learn html for a website building platform.

With this in mind, I’m going to be explaining a little bit of what I know about some of the best platforms out there. I am not going to dive into html, because it is complicated, and as I said before, typically unnecessary.


Some of the great website building platforms include WordPress, Squarespace, GoDaddy, Wix, and more. I can give you a small description of each of some of these and explain what they are helpful for. However, I am an amateur, so my knowledge of this is slightly limited. I’m learning, just like you.

WordPress.com is great for blogging. Most of the personal (non-business) bloggers I know, use the free plan on WordPress. The WordPress free plan is probably the best blogging platform that you can get, if you don’t want to pay a cent. I’m using the WordPress free plan right now, and if you guys are liking this post then I call that a success. 😉

I don’t know much about the paid plans on WordPress, other than the fact that they have great features, if you want to check them out just go to wordpress.com. You don’t need to pay money to have a blog; you can do it perfectly fine for free. However, if your blog starts to get a lot of traffic, it could actually be a good investment to upgrade to a better plan.

WordPress.com is it’s own host, so you don’t need to pay for a hosting platform if you use one of the plans on WordPress.com. However, I have heard that the features on WordPress.org, are actually better for businesses than WordPress.com. With WordPress.org, you have to have a host for your site. Some good hosts are BlueHost, HostGator, GoDaddy, and much more that I won’t get into today. I haven’t actually used WordPress.org, but I’ve looked into it quite a bit, and I’ve heard it’s phenomenal for businesses.

If you want to have a good website for a business that is simple to set up, yet effective, you might go with Squarespace or Wix. Out of those two, I prefer Squarespace, because it is very simple to set up, has slightly better features, and is fairly cheaper than Wix.

Again I have only done a tiny bit of designing with Wix, and I like it, but I like Squarespace better, though they are both pretty similar.

As as GoDaddy, I haven’t used it much myself, but my dad has and he really likes it. We purchased a domain from them and used them for a host. Also they have very cheap domain emails that you can buy.

So, after all this, I can’t say there is one that us just “the best,” but it really depends on the person and what they want to do. There are so many options…

If you have any questions about which one would be best for you, or your just interested in web design, then shoot me a comment below, and I’d be happy to help you.

Thanks so much for reading! If you want to see more posts from me, or the other awesome bloggers here on The Bloggers Project, then be sure to hit that follow button below or to the side. If you like what we do and are eager to share your experience as a blogger, consider going to the “Join Us” page and joining the team here.

Stay tuned for the other parts in this series about building a blog! Thanks again!

Last Post: Five-Second Perfect Post

Post of the Month: How To Gain More Followers

Buh Bye!(1)

Author:

Thanks so much for stopping by! I am a christian, homeschooler in 10th grade. I'm a public introvert and private extrovert. I love basketball, football, gymnastics, genealogy, coffee, music, writing to you awesome followers, and most of all Jesus! I own a blog, Ezra's Everything Spot (though I've been inactive for a while now). I also help design websites and edit blog posts mostly for friends.

6 thoughts on “My Post On The Bloggers Project

Leave a comment