Posted in WSC

Bible Verse Dissection! Jeremiah 20:9~Kaelyn

This is your sis here, Kaelyn @ Kaelyn’s Life and Stuffed Stories( Stuffed Stories is my new side-blog 😉 ) and I am excited to be here for my monthly post. 😛

I am happy to bring to you today yet, another Bible Verse Dissection as I ,Dr. Kaelyn, digs into the truth that is God’ Word.

It has been awhile since I have done a Genealogy Gardener post with me as Gardener Kaelyn and so that is why I am asking you this. 🙂

Please fill out this form below with your name, email, website(optional), and in the message I would love to hear your post ideas!! Next month, should I do another dissect, a genealogy gardener, a poem, etc! I would love to hear your thoughts!! 😀

Thank you so much! 😀

ONTO THE POST!! 😛

Photo by Rakicevic Nenad on Pexels.com

For today’s Bible Verse Dissect be sure to pull up your gloves and lay out your tools because this verse is well, different but powerful.

This verse is found in Jeremiah 20 and the context of this verse will be a lot easier to understand if you read that chapter first. 🙂 I will be using the English Standard Version (ESV) and the The New Living Translation ( NLT) today in this post. 🙂

Feel free to read Jeremiah 20 before you finish reading the rest of this post. 🙂

Jeremiah 20:9 English Standard Version (ESV)

If I say, “I will not mention him,
    or speak any more in his name,”
there is in my heart as it were a burning fire
    shut up in my bones,
and I am weary with holding it in,
    and I cannot.

This verse was our last memory verse for Torch Team( the youth dicipleship/leadership class at my church) this semester. We will start it again in the fall but I will miss it this summer.

This verse I feel like also describes who we are as a Torch Team and I really liked how that this was our ending verse.

Let’s take a closer look at the context of this chapter. 🙂 *slaps out magnifying glass

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

Jeremiah is a prophet of God and he has been being persecuted by a man named Pashur. Pashur beat Jeremiah and left him in the stocks even because of what he was proudly prophesying.

Jeremiah is then talking to God and saying how everything he has said has been destruction but he will continue to praise God. In verse 9, we see that he says he can not hold in what God is telling him because it is like fire in his bones.

Like I said, when you read the chapter, it will make more sense. 😉

Let’s look at the NLT translation now. 🙂 Sometimes looking at different translations can help us better understand the meaning of a verse.

Jeremiah 20:9 New Living Translation (NLT)

But if I say I’ll never mention the Lord
    or speak in his name,
his word burns in my heart like a fire.
    It’s like a fire in my bones!
I am worn out trying to hold it in!
    I can’t do it!

Jeremiah says that if he does not speak about God’s name or who He is, the words are like a fire and it burns!!

The thing about fires is that they can be out of control and they can spread fast! Jeremiah says he is worn out and he can not stop the fire of God from spreading. He can not stop the fire of his own life because he knows what the truth and goodness of God is.

This verse should also apply to us. We want to be able to say that we can hold it in, and that we can’t help but be on fire for Jesus or share His goodness, mercy, beauty, and glorious salvation.

There is a fire in our bones and our heart, and we can’t hold it in.

Thanks again Ezra for letting me write on your blog!!

I would love to chat down in the comments with you all, if you would like.

Is there anything in this verse that stood out to you? Were you able to take anything away from this verse? Did you get to read Jeremiah 20? What Bible translation do you use? If you have any questions about the verse, the Bible, Jesus, and anything, me and I know Ezra, will be willing to help.

Talk to you all soon!! I will see you all next month in JUNE! 😛

Please don’t forget to fill out the form, or you can just put your answer down in the comments if that is easier and more comfortable for you. 😀

Bye for now!!

see-you-later-alligator.png (560×315)

Author:

WHAT UP MY BROS AND SISTAS?!!! My name is Kaelyn and I am the teen writer for my personal lifestyle blog, Kaelyn’s Life, where you can find me sharing about my love for Jesus, as well as spending time with my youth group, since I am a strong Christian. I thought I might add that I adore sparkles, unicorns, and the color pink! I also have a side-blog that features all of my stuffie friends at Stuffed Stories. I even help with two collab blogs: Friends of Faith and Living the Blogging Life. When I am not blogging, you can find me reading, writing, singing, rehearsing in choir, working out, and being outdoors. Lastly, I adore fangirling over things I love such as Keeper of the Lost Cities (Team Keefe!), AIO, Disney, ATLA, clothes, music, and make-up! Although, spending time with my family and friends also brings me much joy, but most of all, Jesus is my joy! With love and hugs, kaelyn

3 thoughts on “Bible Verse Dissection! Jeremiah 20:9~Kaelyn

Leave a comment